skip to Main Content


MEDIA RELEASE/Supercars – Photo: supplied

The PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge returns in 2020, to add extra pressure to crews who play a pivotal role to team success in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.
This year’s challenge will run across four events on the revised calendar, with a grand final to be held at Mount Panorama in October.
The events where crews will need to be at their best in pit lane to qualify for the grand final will be this weekend’s BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint, the Truck Assist Winton event, BetEasy Darwin event and Penrite Oil Sandown event.
In its first three years, the competition has seen teams battle it out to be the fastest in pit lane.
The Shell V-Power crew claimed a 1-2 finish in 2017 and tied for the 2018 crown with Brad Jones Racing, before BJR crews finishing 1-2 again in 2019.
The competition works with times recorded from pit stops, where it is compulsory for all drivers to stop for a minimum two-tyre change. The fastest crews at each event receives a score of 24, while the slowest team receives a score of one point.

Following the completion of the Penrite Oil Sandown event in September, the top four pit crews will compete for the top prize of $20,000 and the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge Golden Rattle Gun perpetual trophy live on FOX SPORTS on the Friday night of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.
This year, the teams that finish 1-3 on the ladder after the eight rounds of the competition, will win cash prizes of 1st $5,500, 2nd $3,500, 3rd $2,000, before moving through to the finals featuring the top four teams who will compete for the grand prize of $20,000.
Supercars CEO Sean Seamer says the competition is a great initiative that fans have thrown their support behind.
“We’re delighted PIRTEK is getting behind pit crews who have had to adapt to changes as part of our return to racing,” Seamer said.
“We’ve altered our rules regarding pit stops, which means crews will have to get everything right during the races to prove they are the best in the business.
“The final at Mount Panorama has been popular among fans at the track and across our Fox Sports Broadcast, so we’re very pleased that PIRTEK has continued to back this initiative.”

PIRTEK CEO Stephen Dutton said, “Pirtek is proud to continue our partnership with the 2020 Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge that will reward teams for being the toughest and fastest at the all-important pit stops”
“A pit stop sees the high pressure sport utilising many of the super tough products that Pirtek provides including hoses, adaptors and couplings that need to stand up to the huge demands placed on them by the Pit Crew Teams.”
“The teams get the chance to showcase their skills, even more so now with only two rattle guns as opposed to the usual four, in what has now made the pitstop become one of the most critical parts of the race.”
“We wish all the teams well and look forward to see which team will obtain the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge Golden Rattle Gun perpetual trophy”
To keep fans up to date with who is the fastest team in pit lane this year, the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge Leaderboard will be published on
This year’s events where times will be recorded will be:

  • BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint 27-28 June
  • Truck Assist Winton 18-19 July
  • BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown 8-9 August
  • Penrite Oil Sandown 19-20 September

Friday night of Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, 9 October 2020.



For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.


This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top