skip to Main Content


Yesterday the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Champion Hunter McElrea got his first taste of running on an oval circuit and it appears the young kiwi took to it like a duck to water!  Setting the fifth quickest time – just 0:22.241 seconds per lap in his Pabst Racing USF2000 Tatuus USF-17 car.

Its pretty much impossible for Aussie and Kiwi single seater drivers (actually all race drivers) to get experience on oval circuits, in fact its impossible to do that at home, with Calder Park the only oval circuit and not in use (unless you drive 24Hour Lemons, and thats a whole other story). The USF2000 series has their next round and the only round for the year on an oval at Lucas Oil Raceway  next weekend 23-25th May on the 0.686-mile oval.

Have a listen to what Hunter had to say to Velocity magazine exclusively after his practice on the oval circuit:

Watch a quick video from yesterdays test session below:

Proud dad of Hunter, Andy McElrea had this to say on Facebook yesterday:  “Dropped in to watch juniors first run on an oval today before I head home for GT3CC this weekend at SMP.  A 22 sec lap makes the gaps at the front quite small! But he loved it. That’s a worry! What was cool is that I worked as a mechanic on a Super Vee back in 1988 at this very track, and now sitting in the bleachers with the other dads. New world. Will be back here in just over a week ?.” (thanks for the photos too Andy)

Andy McElrea owns one of the most successful Porsche Carrera Cup teams in Australia, that has seen success most recently with another kiwi driver thats headed overseas being Jaxon Evans the 2018 Australian Porsche Champ and now a Porsche Junior and competing in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup & Carrera Cup Deutschland and before that Queenslander Matt Campbell now a Porsche Young Professional and racing for Porsche marque all over the world.  McElrea senior himself has two NZ National Championships the 1991 Motorcraft Formula Ford Championship and 1996 NZ ‘Trans Am’ championship.

Current Points Standing for USF2000 Series

Pos. Driver Points
1 Braden Eves – R 127
2 Hunter McElrea – R 94
3 Manuel Sulaiman – R 65
4 Darren Keane 65
5 Zach Holden 54
6 Colin Kaminsky 52
7 Bruna Tomaselli 50
8 Anthony Famularo – R 48
9 Alex Baron 47
10 Christian Rasmussen – R 40
11 Yuven Sundaramoorthy – R 40
12 Reece Gold – R 40
13 Cameron Shields – R 37
14 Matt Round-Garrido – R 33
15 Nolan Siegel – R 29
16 Eduardo Barrichello – R 28
17 Jak Crawford – R 22
18 Christian Bogle – R 19
19 Manuel Cabrera 16
20 Dakota Dickerson 15
21 Jack William Miller – R 13
22 Jose Sierra 12
23 Nate Aranda – R 2

Photos: via Andy McElrea FB page


For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top