skip to Main Content


MEDIA RELEASE/Touring Car Masters – Photo: Velocity Magazine

STEVEN JOHNSON has been officially crowed the 2019 Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters Champion, his third-straight title.

Following a lengthy delay at Sandown, following a crash in an earlier support race, the scheduled 20th and final race of the season was not contested today due to schedule time constraints.

According to the CAMS regulations, the best 19 championship races count towards the final series score; with 19 races in total contested this year there are no major changes to the final results on the corrected scores.

Minor adjustments are made based on six of the best Trophy Races counting towards the final score for each driver, though this did not ultimately change any positions in the final leaderboard.

Johnson won the title by 71 points with John Bowe second in the standings for the third consecutive year.

Johnson is only the second ever driver, after Bowe, to win three consecutive TCM titles.

It is also the sixth title for the famous 1969 Ford Mustang ‘Sally’, each driver having won three times in the storied car – which has now 97 race victories to its credit in its own right.

His final 2019 tally included nine race victories in total, 14 podium finishes and four round victories.

Bowe’s two victories at Sandown ensured he won the final round of the year, his first round victory 2019 and the 38th of his TCM Career.

Unfortunately, the cancellation of today’s race leaves Bowe stranded on 99 career race wins, the five-time champ forced to wait until the Superloop Adelaide 500 next February to attempt to notch up his century.

Aaron Seton was second overall for the round and Johnson third, those positions decided in a countback based on the finishing position in the final race held.

CRASH AT TURN ONE during the trophy race on Saturday – Photos: Velocity Magazine – SEE ALL OUR SANDOWN 500 PHOTOS HERE

Ryal Harris claimed third in the championship, a further 71 points behind Bowe. The strong debut by the EFS Camaro delivered the Queenslander two race wins, 10 race podium finishes and the Sydney round victory in September.

Adam Bressington finished fourth; ultimately just six points behind the final step on the overall podium in yet another strong year for the Whiteline Racing team.

Fifth outright and first in the Pro-Am class is Jim Pollicina, who backs up his 2018 ProSport class title with another crown this year.

Pollicina held out a fast-finishing Aaron Seton for the Pro-Am title, the third-generation driver finishing just eight points behind in sixth overall.

Ryan Hansford was third in Pro-Am and seventh in the overall standings with Marcus Zukanovic finishing his first full season in eighth.

Cameron Mason and Bruce Williams completed the top-10 in the overall standings.

Allen Boughen head earlier sealed the Pro-Am title, having clinched the class win with a round to spare. Peter Burnitt and Guy Gibbons completed the class podium.

The Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters will celebrate their 100th round and the first of the new season at the 2020 Superloop Adelaide 500 next February.


THE PAYNTER DIXON Touring Car Masters has confirmed an eight-event 2020 Schedule, which includes two visits to Mount Panorama for the first time in the series’ history.

The seven-round 2020 championship calendar features an even split between Virgin Australia Supercars Championship and Shannons Nationals events.

The year will then be concluded by a unique non-points event at Mount Panorama. The calendar includes a broad mix of major meetings, calendar staples and drivers’ circuits that will promote outstanding racing.

The series will commence at the 2020 Superloop Adelaide 500 on February 20-23, making a thirteenth visit to the famous circuit in the Eastern Parklands of the South Australian capital.

The series will then make the first of three scheduled appearances on the Shannons Nationals program, when it returns to Sydney Motorsport Park on March 27-29.

The annual visit to country Victoria will see TCM continue feature at the Winton SuperSprint for the seventh-straight year on June 5-7, before returning to the Shannons Nationals in early July.

Phillip Island features as the fifth round of the championship on August 21-23 prior to the first of two trips to the Mountain: The annual visit to the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 set for October 8-11 next year.

The seven-round championship will again conclude at the Sandown Supercars event on November 20-22, while a special non-championship event will be held in conjunction with the fifth Bathurst event later that year, alongside TCR Australia, S5000 and more.

Along with key spots on the Supercars Championship support program, two of the series’ Shannons Nationals visits will see the series race alongside S5000, while all three will see TCR Australia and TCM on the program

While race formats are not planned to change significantly in 2020, broadcast and TV coverage information will be released in due course.


“The 2020 Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters calendar represents a broad mix of events and circuits that will ensure we reach as many fans as possible and give our competitors bang for their buck.

“We’re happy to continue our longstanding relationship with the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship with four key events spread throughout the season.

“Our appearance at three Shannons Nationals rounds brings us alongside fellow Australian Racing Group (ARG) Categories, including TCR Australia and S5000. We’re confident that TCM’s presence at those events will add even more value to that growing program.

“Completing the year at Mount Panorama is an exciting proposition for our competitors with details about that unique season-ending event to come in due course.” 


  1. February 20-23: Superloop Adelaide 500, Adelaide, SA
  2. March 27-29: Shannons Nationals, Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
  3. June 5-7: Winton SuperSprint, Winton Motor Raceway, VIC
  4. July 4-5: Shannons Nationals, Location TBA
  5. August 21-23: Shannons Nationals, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC
  6. October 8-11: Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, Bathurst, NSW
  7. November 20-22: Sandown Supercars, Sandown International Raceway, NSW
  8. Non Championship. Date TBA: 5th Bathurst Event, Bathurst, NSW


For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.


This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top