skip to Main Content


MEDIA RELEASE/FIA Formula 3 – Photo: supplied

Christian Lundgaard became the first driver this season to seal a second pole position in the FIA Formula 3 Championship, controlling an extremely competitive Qualifying session that had more than 10 different leaders. The Danish driver set his time late on as the circuit began to dry in Monza, and finished ahead of PREMA duo Marcus Armstrong and Robert Shwartzman.

With the track still damp, following rain in the Formula 2 Qualifying session, the cars headed out with caution onto the track and Niko Kari set the first time at 1:53.444. Devlin DeFrancesco dipped under 1m 49s as they began to get a feel for the circuit. Fabio Scherer then took further chunks out of the best time.

Leonardo Pulcini, Felipe Drugovich, Liam Lawson and Jehan Daruvala all took turns in first, in quick succession, before the in-form Armstrong grabbed the session by the scruff of the neck to break the 1m 40s barrier.

Jake Hughes stole provisional pole as the track grew drier and the drivers were told over team radio that no further rain was expected. With just over 10 minutes to go, Lundgaard grabbed provisional pole and made the most of the improved grip on track.

The traffic intensified as all the cars fed onto the track for their second stint, and it remained heavy for a couple of laps with less than 4 minutes left on the clock. Due to safety reasons the race director decided to red flag the session which was then not resumed. This allowed Lundgaard to claim his second pole since Budapest. Armstrong and Shwartzman took 2nd and 3rdrespectively, ahead of their teammate, Daruvala.

Lirim Zendeli snuck in a late fast lap to take fifth – his best Qualifying of the season. Teppei Natori also sealed his best of the season in sixth, ahead of Max Fewtrell, Richard Verschoor, Kari and Giorgio Carrara.

Race 1 will get underway tomorrow at 10.30am local time, when Lundgaard will aim for his second win of 2019.

1 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1:38.834 12
2 Marcus Armstrong PREMA Racing 1:38.969 11
3 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Racing 1:39.037 11
4 Jehan Daruvala PREMA Racing 1:39.055 11
5 Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:39.177 11
6 Teppei Natori Carlin Buzz Racing 1:39.303 12
7 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix 1:39.307 12
8 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1:39.312 11
9 Niko Kari Trident 1:39.343 11
10 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.344 11
11 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.437 11
12 Jake Hughes HWA RACELAB 1:39.444 10
13 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport 1:39.505 12
14 Pedro Piquet Trident 1:39.511 9
15 Jüri Vips Hitech Grand Prix 1:39.645 11
16 Logan Sargeant Carlin Buzz Racing 1:39.717 11
17 David Beckmann ART Grand Prix 1:39.788 12
18 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1:39.830 11
19 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport 1:40.068 11
20 Keyvan Andres HWA RACELAB 1:40.084 9
21 Bent Viscaal HWA RACELAB 1:40.097 10
22 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech Grand Prix 1:40.108 11
23 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1:40.114 10
24 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing 1:40.190 11
25 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:40.258 11
26 Felipe Drugovich Carlin Buzz Racing 1:40.370 9
27 Ye Yifei Hitech Grand Prix 1:40.639 10
28 Raoul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:41.052 10
29 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1:41.161 11
30 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport 1:42.031 11



For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.


This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top