skip to Main Content


PRESS RELEASE/Australian Motor Racing Series – Photo: Pete Trapnell

Aaron Seton has continued his domination of the 2019 TA2 Muscle Car Series with wins in both today’s races at Round 2 of the Australian Motor Racing Series at Morgan Park. After qualifying on pole position by over a second, Seton pulled away from George Miedecke to claim victories in both races.

2017 TA2 champ Russell Wright was third in both races, with Ashley Jarvis and Nathan Herne battling over fourth and fifth positions.

The second race was interrupted by a lengthy Safety Car intervention when Tim Tritton crashed heavily on the exit of Turn 3; while Tritton was unharmed, his car sustained significant damage. Drew Ridge was also a retirement with mechanical problems.

Cairns mango farmer John Magro continued his perfect start to the 2019 Australian Formula 3 Championship with pole position and victory in Race 1. The R-Tek Motorsport driver was made to work for it though; Richard Peasey beat him off the line at the start, and held the lead for seven of the 10 laps, until a slight mistake at Turn 10 enabled Magro to slip up the inside.

Peasey finished second ahead of his Gilmour Racing team-mate Josh Buchan in third place.

Gerrit Ruff won the National Class, defeating Roman Krumins and Andrew Roberts.

Aaron Prosser bounced back from a difficult Winton weekend by taking his first Mazda RX8 Cup pole position and winning both today’s races.

In Race 1, Prosser was initially challenged by Will Harris before Harris fell down the order with a spin at Turn 2, allowing Ben Silvestro into second place ahead of Terry Lewis.

Prosser drove to an unchallenged win from Silvestro in Race 2. After struggling with brake problems in practice, qualifying and Race 1, points leader Stephen McLaine salvaged a third-place finish ahead of Lewis and the recovering Harris.

Wayne Hennig won a pair of drama-filled Queensland Production Sports races in his Porsche 911, fending off challenges from fellow Porsche racer Steve McFadden and Ginetta driver Jeff Hume.

Hennig narrowly held out Jeff Hume in the opening race, after polesitter John Prefontaine retired with a tyre issue with his Lotus on the warmup lap. McFadden was also inside the top three, before a spin saw him fall to 22nd.

Graham Lusty brought his Mosler home in third position, while regular Toyota 86 Series runner James Wilkins won Class 2F for the production-spec cars.

Race 2 was held over a longer 23-lap distance, and Hennig again withstood pressure from Hume in the early laps. McFadden charged through the field and by two-thirds race distance he was challenging Hennig for the lead, but another spin at Turn 2 halted his momentum.

Hume’s Ginetta was eventually sidelined with a mechanical problem, allowing McFadden to finish second ahead of Prefontaine. The Class 2F win went to Mazda MX5 driver Shane Freese.

Driving his HDT tribute Holden VK Commodore, Steve Hay scored a pair of comprehensive race victories in the Queensland Touring Car Championship races.

The contest for second was much tighter, Commodore drivers Brett Kennedy and Bailey Hall battling intently throughout both races, Kennedy emerging on top on both occasions.

Pierz Harrex was fourth in both races, fending off a number of more powerful cars in his BMW E30, with Matthew Haak surviving a clutch problem to score a pair of top-five finishes.


For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top