skip to Main Content


PRESS RELEASE/Shannons Nationals – CAMS – Photos: John Morris

CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship 

Today’s two victories in the CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship has seen Jayden Ojeda become the all-time record holder of race wins in the championship.

Taking his 12th win this season, Ojeda stormed to two race victories at Sydney Motorsport Park today.

He was joined on the podium by Aaron Love, who now moves to third in the title standings.

Ryan Suhle was third for the round, with the Rookie of the round Lachlan Hughes finishing fourth outright.

Jackson Walls finished the penultimate round in fifth, ahead of Zayd Tones, Josh Smith and Thomas Smith.

Antonio Astuti and Ardie Jonic rounded out the top 10.

The championship will now head to New Zealand for their final round of 2018, racing at Pukekohe on 2-4 November.



Aussie Racing Cars

Kel Treseder took a clean-sweep in the Aussie Racing Cars, as part of their sixth round for the season.

In the series return to the Shannons Nationals, Treseder took pole and four race wins in what was a dominant performance at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Treseder led the way on the podium to South Australian Joel Heinrich and Kyle Ensbey, in what has now created a close battle for the title heading into the final round.

Ensbey stepped down from the Rookie standings, which handed Josh Anderson the win in the Rookies points, finishing fifth outright.

The Masters Cup winner was Leigh Bowler, while the ARC Gold Cup went to Brendon Tucker.

Madison Dunston took out the Ladies class.

The series will now head to the streets of Gold Coast for their final round on 19-21 October.


Australian Production Car Series 

Grant Denyer and Tony D’Alberto have taken a dominating win at Sydney Motorsport Park, during the Australian Production Car Series’ four hour race.

The duo finished a lap ahead of the next-best finishes Ryan Simpson and Jim Pollicina, making the final result a one-two finish for Lotus.

Iain and Grant Sherrin completed the podium for the round in third.

In a Safety Car-marred race, last year’s Sydney winner Bob Pearson driving with Rick Bates was fourth, ahead of Adam Hargraves and Jake Camilleri in fifth.

Jordan Cox/Rob Rubis/Scott Turner were first home in a competitive B1 Class with 10th outright, followed by class rivals James Keene and Dominic Martens (11th outright) and George Karadimas driving with George Russell (12th outright).

Oliver Shannon and Justin Ruggier took out Class D (13th outright), while a great battle in Class C saw Calum Jones and Colin Osborne (14th outright).

After taking both of yesterday’s race wins in the Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia yesterday, Jimmy Vernon sealed the Class E victory (15th outright) driving with Mark Griffith, with Nathan Callaghan and Chris Lillis the winners in A2.

Denyer and D’Alberto now lead the series with one round remaining.

Australian Production Car Series will head to Phillip Island for their finale on 2-4 November.


Radical Australia Cup 

Peter Paddon has taken the final Radical Australia round victory at Sydney Motorsport Park, claiming the final race win in the series.

In a race full of drama, Paddon led the way from John Beck in the final 50-minute race of the weekend.

Peter Clare finished the final race in third and grabbing second for the round, in what was his debut podium placing in the series.

Greg Kenny was fourth ahead of a conservative Kim Burke, who went on to win the 2018 series finishing fifth.

Bill Medland was sixth in the final heat, ahead of Brad and Mitch Neilson who went on to finish third for the round.

After a successful Saturday qualifying pole and winning yesterday’s race, Chris Perini unfortunately retired from the second race for the event.


Sue Hughes has a coming together with the wall at SMP – Photo: John Morris

Australian Prototype Series presented by Hot Wheels 

Mark Laucke has stormed to a Round 4 victory in the Australian Prototype Series, after Jason Makris was cruelly denied a race win at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Makris had pulled a three-second lead by the 10th lap in the 18-lap feature race, before a voltage issue slowed his car coming out of Turn 2.

The Queensland-based driver limped to pit lane and resumed down the field, bringing his car home in 11th. 

Laucke had straight-line advantage and it took a massive pass at Turn 6 from Peter Paddon to have the local driver to wrestle the lead away from Laucke.

Paddon then pulled away to win the race, Laucke second and Paul Braico third.

John-Paul Drake was fourth while Chris Sutton completed the top five.

Carmelo Bonaventura, Stephen Champion, Peter Clare, Zig Fuhrmeister and Phil Hughes completed the top 10.

The final round of the series will be held at the Phillip Island on 2-4 November.

Veloce Racing Association 

David Capraro has taken both race wins today in the Veloce Racing Association in his Alfa GTV 6, as part of the McCarolls Alfa Romeo Challenge at Sydney Motorsport Park.

After qualifying on pole yesterday and finishing the opening race in third, Capraro started today with a race win ahead of Michael Musumeci.

It was a father-son effort in today’s first outing, with Michael’s father Alfio Musumeci rounding out the Race 2 podium.

Race 3 for the weekend saw Frank Carigliano crawl back to finish second behind Capraro, while Michael and Alfio Musumeci filled the next two spots in third and fourth.

VSR Showdown

The opening round of the VSR Showdown at the Shannons Nationals provided plenty of action, with Dylan Shepherd taking the first round win.

Shepherd, who started from second for the final race at the Oran Park circuit on the Motum Simulation VR simulator, led the entire race and won the event.

As part of winning the final, Shepherd will now test drive a CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship car.

Going into the final starting on pole, Andrew Kahl unfortunately made a mistake that forced him to the rear of the pack after the first corner.

This allowed for Daniel Benefield to come through, ultimately finishing second for the event and Kahl third.

The final round of the Shannons Nationals was proudly supported by the NSW Government.

For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 6 issues.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top