skip to Main Content


PRESS RELEASE/AMRS – Photo: Matthew Paul Photography

Jones Closes on F3 Lead
Harrison Jones has closed on the lead of the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series, qualifying on pole position and winning the opening race at Morgan Park today.
After out-qualifying points leader Cameron Shields by almost 0.3s, the Sunshine Coast driver was left with a relatively unchallenged run after Shields stalled on the grid, falling to the rear of the field.

“I’m really happy with my day today, we’ve had excellent pace all weekend,” Jones said.
“To grab pole position and then back it up with a race win was great for the team. I’m starting on pole for both tomorrow’s races, so hopefully I can do the same again.”
Shields recovered to third position behind his Gilmour Racing team-mate Richard Peasey, also setting a new outright lap record for Morgan Park – 1:07.543 – as he charged through the field. Two more F3 races will be held tomorrow.

Camilleri on Pole for GT-1
Jake Camilleri has qualified his MARC II Mustang on pole position for Round 2 of the GT-1 Australia Series, setting a best time of 1:12.285.
Camilleri was closely challenged by Audi R8 driver Rod Salmon in the first session, but responded in the second session to post a time around 0.6s clear of Salmon.
Matt Stoupas will line up third on the grid for the first of tomorrow’s two 50-minute GT-1 races.

Burge Resists Pressure to Maintain Legend Car Winning Streak
James Burge has extended his Legend Cars Australia winning streak to 12 races, seeing off a spirited challenge from Ben Jagger to add another two wins to his tally.
Burge and Jagger swapped the lead on multiple occasions in both today’s races, but Burge prevailed on each occasion.
Brendon Hourigan solidified his second position in the standings with a pair of third-place finishes after Zane Morse retired from the opening race with mechanical problems. Morse recovered to finish sixth in Race 2.
Stephen Chilby, who entered the weekend third in the points, suffered a gearbox issue in Race 1 and has been ruled out for the remainder of the weekend.
The third Legend Car race, scheduled for 8:30 tomorrow morning, will feature a full reverse-grid format.

Shaw Dominates RX8 Cup Races
Ric Shaw has extended his points advantage in the inaugural Mazda RX8 Cup Series by winning both today’s races.
Impressive debutant Aaron Prosser was second in Race 1, but a slow start allowed Stephen McLaine through to second in Race 2.
Lachlan O’Hara was fourth in both races, while Nick Dunkley, Terry Lewis, Adam Spence, Brayden Slater and Ben Silvestro staged entertaining contests on the fringe of the top five in both races.

Queensland Categories
Steve McFadden won both QLD Production Sports Car sprint races in his Porsche 911, ahead of fellow Porsche racer Wayne Hennig. John Prefontaine brought his Lotus Exige home third outright (first in Class 2B) in both races while the Class 2F wins were shared between Paul Ansell (Mazda MX5) and James Wilkins (Toyota 86). A 50-minute endurance race will be held tomorrow.
Paul Manteit won both Formula Vee races after thrilling dices with Paul Kellaway, with Eddie McFaul third in both events.
Driving his MARC I Focus, Geoff Taunton won the two Classic Sports Sedan races ahead of Tim Tritton (Porsche 993 911) and Tony Saint (Mazda RX7 V8).

Where to Watch
Sunday’s AMRS action will be live streamed via the AMRS Facebook Page and Blend Line TV YouTube Channel

For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 6 issues.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top