skip to Main Content


MEDIA RELEASE/Trans AM – Photo: Velocity Magazine

A 20-car field will take to the track at Symmons Plains Raceway for round two of the 2024 Trico Trans Am Series, as part of the Shannons SpeedSeries at AWC Race Tasmania.

The field is boosted by a number of high-profile inclusions, while all 16 drivers who contested the opening round of the season at Sandown return for round two.

Two-time series winner Nathan Herne will make his first start in Trans Am since winning the title in 2022, and returns to the category with a privateer outfit. The 21-year-old has never failed to make the podium in a Trans Am race at Symmons Plains.

James Moffat will look to pick up where he left off, after clean sweeping the opening round of the year, returning to the track where he also swept the wins in 2023. Moffat’s GRM teammates will provide a stoush in-house challenge, with James Golding, Tim Slade, Edan Thornburrow and Tom Davies all in close competition after round one.

Ben Grice will be a strong favourite to break up the GRM party, after taking pole position for the 2023 visit to Symmons Plains Raceway. Meanwhile, The Racing Academy duo of Elliot Cleary and Jordan Boys will be hoping to continue their form after locking in second and third for the round at Sandown.

Local hero Adam Garwood also joins the field, competing for Dream Racing Australia in their third car. Garwood joins Jackson Rice at Dream Racing, who is coming off the back of a podium finish at the opening round of the season.

The Pro-Am category will be contested amongst five drivers with Dream Racing Australia’s third driver, and another local star, Josh Webster looking to back up his victory from the opening round of the season.

Joshua Thomas returns to TFH Hire Services, linking up with Todd Hazelwood as the team field two cars for the first time in Trans Am, and is a new addition to the Pro Am field. As is Mark Bailey, who lines up for Ashley Seward Motorsport in the car driven to a pair of third place series finishes by Brett Holdsworth. John Holinger and Chris Pappas both return to the field and will be strong competitors in the Pro-Am battle.

Nash Morris, Tom Hayman and Elliot Barbour round out the incredibly competitive field, all looking to bounce back after a rough and tumble start to the year.

The Young Gun Award will also be contested, with all drivers under the age of 25 eligible to claim the victory irrespective of their overall class.

Round two also marks the first appearance for the four-race format in 2024, which will also be utilised for the series’ first visit to Shell V-Power Motorsport Park on the first weekend of June. All four races will be 25 laps in length, with two races each on Saturday and Sunday.

All four races will be live and free on 7plus, with races’ two and four also shown on free-to-air TV via 7mate.

The Trico Trans Am field hit the track on Friday, March 15, for two practice sessions ahead of the weekend’s racing at AWC Race Tasmania.


For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.


This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top