skip to Main Content


MEDIA RELEASE/TCR Australia – Photo: Velocity Magazine

The Australian Racing Group is pleased to confirm an expanded racing calendar for the 2020 TCR Australia Series, including a new TCR Asia Pacific Cup to kick off the year, plus a sprint race at the world-famous Mount Panorama circuit.

The new racing season will launch with a one-off race event at the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, with competitors from Australia, New Zealand and around the world racing for the Asia Pacific Cup.

The event will feature a three-race program where entrants will be able to experience the thrill of racing at the biggest motorsport event in the country, while fighting for a globally-recognised TCR title.

The 2020 TCR Australia Series proper will launch two weeks later at Sydney Motorsport Park for the first of seven points rounds.

The second round will be a history-maker – the first fully fledged TCR race to be held at Mount Panorama, Bathurst – part of the race schedule at the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour on the Easter long weekend.

Winton Raceway and The Bend Motorsport Park make up Rounds 3 and 4, while the venue for the fifth round will be confirmed in the coming weeks.

The title will be decided in Victoria, with the final two rounds to be held at two of Australia’s iconic venues, Phillip Island and Sandown. 

TCR competitors will also have the opportunity to compete in a one-off, non-points endurance event at the famous Mount Panorama circuit later in the year. This will be part of the new fifth Bathurst race event, and more details of that race meeting will be made in due course.

Matt Braid –Director, Australian Racing Group

“The Australian Racing Group is delighted to confirm the provisional calendar for the 2020 TCR Australia Series,” said Matt Braid.

“The introduction of the TCR Asia Pacific Cup is the perfect way to kick off the new season. There will be a lot at stake when our local teams go up against some of the best TCR drivers and teams from around the world on the biggest stage that this country has to offer.

“Bringing Bathurst into our series is going to be a winner for everyone. It will be fabulous to see sprint touring car racing return to the iconic track in almost 25 years too.

“The TCR calendar featuring new and high profile events, plus the ability for the competitors to race against international competition further cements TCR Australia as the most international and market relevant touring car category in the the country for drivers and teams alike.”

2020 TCR Australian Series calendar:

TCR Asia Pacific Cup: Australian Grand Prix, Albert Park, 12-15 March
Round 1: Sydney Motorsport Park, 27-29 March
Round 2: Bathurst 6 Hour, 10-12 April
Round 3: Winton, 1-3 May
Round 4: The Bend Motorsport Park, 12-14 June
Round 5: TBC, 3-5 July
Round 6: Phillip Island, 21-23 August*
Round 7: Sandown, 11-13 September
New Bathurst event: Mount Panorama, Bathurst, Date TBC

*Subject to finalisation of commercial agreements with circuit


For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.


This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top