skip to Main Content


PRESS RELEASE/Australian Motor Racing Series – Photo: supplied

The second round of the 2019 AMRS at Morgan Park this weekend is headlined by the first visit of the TA2 Muscle Car Series to the Warwick circuit, with two other national categories and a couple of local Queensland classes also on the program.

The opening TA2 round at Sydney Motorsport Park in March was won by Aaron Seton, son of two-time V8 Supercar Champion Glenn, and his main challengers were experienced production and sports car racer George Miedecke, and reigning champion Ashley Jarvis, along with young gun Nathan Herne – the 16-year-old has stepped up to TA2 after winning races in national Formula Ford.

The TA2 Series has attracted a strong 25-car field for this weekend, including the series debut of SuperUtes driver Christopher Formosa, who will race a General Lee-inspired Dodge Challenger.

Also on the program is the Australian Formula 3 Championship. An F3 car holds the lap record at Morgan Park, a scorching 1:07.5 achieved by Toowoomba driver Cameron Shields last year.

While Shields’ talents have earned him a drive in America for 2019, the local F3 title is still shaping up to be a closely-fought affair with Cairns mango farmer John Magro, fellow Queenslander Richard Peasey and talented Sydney driver Josh Buchan all battling for outright honours in Round 1 at Winton.

The National Class is also shaping up as an interesting contest, Gerrit Ruff winning at Winton after Roman Krumins was eliminated from the weekend’s final race with mechanical problems.

The other national category on the Morgan Park schedule is the Mazda RX8 Cup; the first RX8 Cup round at Winton was won by veteran Stephen McLaine, ahead of Will Harris and Ben Silvestro. A healthy field of drivers have entered the Morgan Park round, with Improved Production racer David Waldon making his first appearance.

Joining the three national categories will be the Queensland-based Production Sports Car and Queensland Touring Car Championships.

The Production Sports field features a mixture of vehicles, ranging from Porsche 911 GT3s to Mazda MX5s, Lotuses and other sports cars. The Porsche 911s of Wayne Hennig and Steve McFadden are expected to run at the front of Class I, while John Prefontaine’s Lotus Exige will battle against a fleet of Porsche Cup cars in Class 2B. The third class, 2F, will be a battle between the Mazda MX5s of Shane Freese, James Hay and Shane Plohl, and Toyota 86 of James Wilkins.

The Queensland Touring Car Championship is home to V8-powered Holdens and Fords along with smaller four-cylinder cars, such as BMW 3 Series. A massive, 38-car field is entered for the round, highlighted by Steve Hay’s HDT replica VK Commodore, which was the overall winner in the opening round at Queensland Raceway.


For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top