skip to Main Content


PRESS RELEASE/Supercars – Photo: supplied

The third round of the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship begins tomorrow when drivers hit Symmons Plains for the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint.

Reigning Supercars Champion Scott McLaughlin has racked up five wins from five starts while fellow Ford Mustang driver Chaz Mostert has claimed the only other race win of the year.

With the new-look Mustang unbeaten over the opening six races, Holden drivers led by Jamie Whincup will be hoping to continue their dominance in Tasmania this weekend.

Today, some of the categories rising stars were officially welcome to Tasmania by Launceston Mayor, Albert Van Zetten at the iconic and picturesque Cataract Gorge.

There, the youngsters said this weekend traditionally throws up a number of surprises and could be an event where thye could spring an upset on some of their fancied rivals in pit lane.

One of the highlights of the event will be tomorrow morning’s additional drivers practice session, which will feature the great Craig Lowndes behind the wheel of Jamie Whincup’s Red Bull Holden – Lowndes’ first drive since retiring from full-time driving at the end of 2018.

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team has been the dominant squad at Symmons Plains in recent years winning 10 out of the 12 races held at the venue since 2014, while Ford’s have won only two races at Symmons Plains since 2011. Will Davison won there in 2012 for FPR and Fabian Coulthard won in 2017.

A number of drivers will this morning visit the iconic Cataract Gorge to receive an official welcome to Launceston from Mayor Albert Van Zetten.
Practice begins tomorrow when the great Craig Lowndes is expected to get behind the wheel for the first time in 2019.

With a new-look qualifying format, drivers will be putting everything on the line on Saturday before the opening race of the weekend.


  • 10:30am – 11:00am – Additional Drivers Practice
  • 11:50am – 12:20pm – Practice 1
  • 2:20pm – 2:50pm – Practice 2


  • 11:10am – 11:40am – Practice 3
  • 1:50pm – 2:30pm – ARMOR ALL Qualifying (In three parts)
  • 4:40pm – Race 7 – 120kms Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint


  • 9:25am – 9:55am – Practice 4
  • 11:15am – 11:55am – ARMOR ALL Qualifying (In three parts)
  • 2:05pm – Race 8 – 200kms Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint

Every practice, qualifying and race session of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship is broadcast live in high definition on Fox Sports and Kayo within Australia.


For all our news keep your eyes peeled on the Velocity Magazine website and social media, FacebookTwitter and Instagram for our daily updates and to get the latest edition of our glossy magazine subscribe here from just $55 for 12 months subscription.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top