skip to Main Content


Liam Talbot has won the first race in the Australian GT Championship at Sydney Motorsport Park yesterday afternoon. Mercedes driver Peter Hackett finished second and Fraser Ross took 3rd in the McLaren and towards the top of the championship as Tony Bates finished 10th having been pushed wide at turn 1 earlier in the race.

For Hackett the result was somewhat bittersweet after the 2017 Australian Endurance Championship winner had dominated the qualifying session and led the field away from the start. He elected to stop relatively early for his CPS while Talbot ran further in his first stint. Steven Richards held 2nd before he handed the BMW over to Ricky Capo for the run to the flag. Cameron McConville displaced Fraser Ross for 3rd in the early stages of the race and ran long before handing the BASF inspired liveried Lamborghini Huracan to Adrian Dietz.

Liam Talbot has won the first race in the Australian GT Championship at Sydney Motorsport Park – All Photos John Morris

At the conclusion of the pit window it was Talbot who was narrowly ahead of Hackett, with Yassir Shahin, Geoff Emery and Fraser Ross in close company. As the 40 minute time certain race ticked down, Hackett made several unsuccessful moves for the lead as the Hot Wheels Car Care Porsche stayed on the racing line. The pair ran side by side towards turn 2, though Hackett was forced wide at the turn and lost ground to the leader. Peter Hackett eventually looked for a faster run onto the main straight, only to get the Mercedes out of shape and spun. He managed to maintain 2nd place as he got the silver Mercedes pointed in the right direction.

Fraser Ross was also on the move – Sydney Motorsport Park – All Photos John Morris

Fraser Ross was also on the move and has more success as he found a way past Emery and Shahin in quick order at turn 2. From there the McLaren was able to pull away from the Audi and Mercedes for a comfortable 3rd place finish. Geoff Emery, Yasser Shahin, Steven Richards/Ricky Capo, Ryan How, Nick Kelly, Dave Stevens and Tony Bates rounded out the top 10. The day was a disaster for the Aston Martin entries with the Miedecke entry a non starter due to an engine issue, while Tony Quinn, who had just bought back his old Aston Martin Vantage was a mid race retirement.

Two more races take place today in the penultimate round of the 2018 Australian GT Championship

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top