skip to Main Content


PRESS RELEASE/Trans-Am (Photo: Matthew Paul Photography)

FORD Mustang racer Brett Curran scored three race wins on his series return to win round two of the 2018 Performance Wheels Australian Trans-Am Series at Queensland Raceway.

The Toowoomba racer won three out of the four races on offer and claimed third in the other, to secure overall round honours ahead of John English (Pontiac Firebird) and Anthony Tenkate (Ford Mustang).

Curran topped the timesheet in qualifying with a 1:22.61, closely followed by Anthony Tenkate (1:22.70) who joined him on the front row.

Curran fended off tough challenges from English and Tenkate to win race one. 

Race two ran in slippery conditions with a number of drivers opting to run wet tyres, including Curran and English. The decision failed to pay dividends for Curran, who spun at turn three on a drying track on the opening lap before climbing back up to third in an impressive drive. Tenkate notched his first career Trans-Am race victory ahead of English.

English lead early in race three, before a close battle saw Curran take a narrow win after the pair swapped positions throughout the race. Trans-Am debutant Chris La Rosa scored his debut race podium after swapping positions with Tenkate.

English again lead early in the finale, before Curran moved past on lap five to take the win, with Tenkate third.

Tenkate (167 points) now leads trophy class of the Performance Wheels Australian Trans-Am Series ahead of John English (136) and Russell Wright (100).

Curran was overjoyed to win the round on his return to Trans-Am competition. “The car performed great, it’s been a while since we raced it but we’re very happy with the result,” said Curran.  “John English made me work for it all weekend, and the racing was great between the two of us.”

“I’d like to thank Trans-Am and the whole group that puts the series together. The atmosphere around the pits was great, everyone’s laughing and helping each other out.  “I’d also like to thank Robby for keeping the car going all weekend and Peter McCullagh for letting me drive the car.”

In the Sportsman Series, Alwyn Bishop (Ford Mustang) secured pole position and a win in race one, before Chris La Rosa (Ford Mustang) won the remaining races to claim class honours on his series debut ahead of Bishop, Shane Wilson (Ford Mustang) and Martin O’Kane (Chev Camaro). Bishop (191 points) maintains his series lead by 36 points over Wilson (155) and O’Kane (146).

In the 5 Litre Classics, Mark Bowtell (Pontiac Firebird) score pole and the race one victory, before reigning class champion Ron Prefontaine (Ford Mustang) clawed back from a DNF in the first race to win the remaining three. Bowtell won class honours ahead of Mike Collins (Ford Mustang), Prefontaine, Len Balme (Mercury Cougar) and Tricia Chant (Ford Mustang). Collins (176 points) retains his series lead by 21 points over Balme (155) and Bowtell (136).

Round three of the 2018 Performance Wheels Australian Trans-Am Series will be held at the 2 Days of Thunder at Queensland Raceway on June 22-24.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top