skip to Main Content


PRESS RELEASE/Australian GT – The Bend Racing Suspended – Photo: Aus GT

In the interests of safety following a number of extreme weather instances, Round 2 of the 2018 CAMS Australian GT Championship has revised its weekend schedule.

Extreme weather has resulted in significantly reduced visibility across the weekend, with forecasts showing conditions are set to continue.

In response, Australian GT category management and CAMS has agreed that, in the interests of safety for all parties, this afternoon’s scheduled race will be delayed until Sunday morning.

The race duration will be two hours and forty minutes with the race set to be held on the International layout of The Bend Motorsport Park.

At 4.95km instead of 7.77km, the International circuit has been less impacted by the extreme weather situations, and allows for a greater concentration of track officials.

“This decision has not been taken lightly, and comes after careful consideration and consultation with CAMS and the GT Commission,” said Australian GT manager Ken Collier.

“We’ve been hugely impressed by the fantastic new facility, and it’s a shame the extreme weather has had such an impact.

“We now look forward to putting on a fabulous race tomorrow.”

A practice session this afternoon will afford teams an opportunity to become familiar with the alternate circuit configuration before tomorrow’s race.

Results from qualifying will stand and determine the grid.

Results: Qualifying, Australian GT Championship, The Bend


Pos Competitor/Team Driver Vehicle Time
1 WM Waste Management Max Twigg/Tony D’Alberto Mercedes-AMG GT3 3:06.968
2 Walkinshaw GT John Martin/Liam Talbot Porsche 911 GT3-R 3:06.986
3 The Bend Motorsport Park Yasser Shahin/Luke Youlden Mercedes-AMG GT3 3:07.443
4 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett/Jake Fouracre Mercedes-AMG GT3 3:07.647
5 Aussie Driver Search Jaie Robson/David Reynolds Mercedes-AMG GT3 3:08.064
6 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards/Dean Grant BMW M6 GT3 3:09.696
7 Total/Opti-Coat/Logitech Fraser Ross/Duvashen Padayachee McLaren 650S GT3 3:10.200
8 Valvoline Geoff Emery/Garth Tander Audi R8 LMS 3:10.495
9 KFC/Ctech Laser/Moveitnet/B&B Tony Bates/Daniel Gaunt Audi R8 LMS 3:11.988
10 Objective Racing Tony Walls/Warren Luff McLaren 650S GT3 3:13.495
11 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor/Craig Baird Mercedes-AMG GT3 3:14.926
12 Mriani Beef Jerky Tony Quinn/Shane van Gisbergen McLaren 650S GT3 3:15.078
13 Timken Zagame Motorsport Adrian Deitz/Cameron McConville Lamborghini Huracan 3:15.726
14 Ah Apartments Ash Samadi/Dylan O’Keeffe Audi R8 LMS 3:23.876
15 Interlloy M Motorsport Justin McMillan/Glen Wood KTM X-Bow 3:26.466
16 JMG Bilstein Jeremy Gray/Andrew Miedecke Aston Martin Vantage GT4 3:30.175
17 Hogs Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith/Harrison Jones Ginetta G55 GT4 3:34.130
18 Interlloy M Motorsport David Crampton/Trent Harrison KTM X-Bow 3:35.714
19 Haemokinesis/Trofeo Estate/FreeM Jim Manolios/Dean Canto Lamborghini Huracan  

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top